Skip to product information
1 of 8

DrAlienSmith

DrAlienSmith Alien8

DrAlienSmith Alien8

Regular price €449,00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €449,00 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

In stock

Our opinion

“An amazing kick mic, that produces a “finished” sound right from the start.” - Victor Malvolti aka Boring Vic

Figure 8 Dynamic Microphone

The DrAlienSmith Alien8 is a figure 8 dynamic microphone designed for low frequency sources that also need to have a detailed mid range. It really shines on kick drums, bass amps and even guitar amps by capturing a big low end with a unique presence. It's an almost 'finished' sound that needs little or no eq to effortlessly place sounds up front in the mix. Google search 'TapeOp Alien8' for their review.

2 capsules, 3 sounds

The Alien8 features two identical 50mm headphone drivers as capsules. Sitting one on top of the other, the top one faces forward while the bottom one faces back. Each capsule picks up sound in a figure 8 pattern but like some ribbon microphones, the rear of the capsule sounds different to the front. By using two capsules the Alien8 takes advantage of these tonal variations with its 3 position switch. Select top capsule only to get a brighter sound, select bottom capsule only for more body or choose both capsules to get the best of both worlds (our favorite setting).

While taking a little design inspiration from the classic AKG D30 (dual capsule) and Beyer M380 (headphone driver), the Alien8 is definitely not intended to be a clone or a remake, it has a distinct sound all of its own.

The Alien8 is transformer balanced and unaffected by phantom power.

View full details

Passer aux informations produits
1 de 8

DrAlienSmith

DrAlienSmith Alien8

DrAlienSmith Alien8

Prix habituel €449,00 EUR
Prix habituel Prix promotionnel €449,00 EUR
Promo Épuisé
Taxes incluses.

En stock

Notre avis

"Un micro de kick étonnant, qui permet d'avoir un son "fini" très facilement." - Victor Malvolti aka Boring Vic

Microphone à figure en 8

Le DrAlienSmith Alien8 est un microphone dynamique en forme de 8 conçu pour les sources chargées en basse, tout en nécessitant un médium détaillé. Il brille vraiment sur les grosses caisses, les amplis de basse et même les amplis de guitare en capturant un bas puissant et avec une présence dans le médium unique. C'est un son poli et fini, qui nécessite peu ou pas d'égalisation au mix.

Deux capsules pour trois sonorités

L'Alien8 est équipé de deux membranes identiques de 50 mm en guise de capsules situées l'une au dessus de l'autre. Celle du haut est orientée vers l'avant, tandis que celle du bas est orientée vers l'arrière. Chaque capsule capte le son selon un schéma en 8, à la manière de certains microphones à ruban. L'arrière de la capsule reproduit un son différent de l'avant. En utilisant deux capsules, l'Alien8 tire parti de ces variations tonales grâce à son commutateur à trois positions. Sélectionnez uniquement la capsule supérieure pour obtenir un son plus brillant, la capsule inférieure pour plus de basses ou choisissez les deux capsules en même temps pour obtenir le meilleur des deux mondes (le réglage gagnant pour les kick).

Tout en s'inspirant des classiques que sont le AKG D30 (qui a aussi une double capsule) et des haut-parleurs de casque Beyer M380, l'Alien8 n'est certainement pas un clone ou un remake, il a un son distinct qui lui est propre.

L'Alien8 est symétrisé par transformateur et n'est pas affecté par l'alimentation Phantom.

Afficher tous les détails